Drunk texting, embarrassing texts, words of regret during an argument, sending the wrong text to the wrong person and cringing after that. Been there done that? Yeah, we all have. Lord knows how many times we have wanted to hurl ourselves off the building after hitting send, knowing that no power on earth can undo what we just did! Turns out that our prayers have actually been answered, as Whatsapp is rolling out a new feature that will allow you to delete a text within seven minutes of hitting send!
The feature is called ‘Delete For Everyone’. So you basically select the message you want to delete (mind you, it’s a Cinderella story so seven minutes time window is crucial), then you will get three options: to go back to chat, to delete the text from your phone and the magical option of deleting it for everyone. Also, messages sent on broadcast cannot be deleted. So be it your job or a relationship, Whatsapp is doing everything to save your regrets! People are obviously celebrating this.
However, the feature is not something that was unheard of. Telegram has been way ahead of Whatsapp in this regard because it has been allowing users to revoke texts for a long time now. Now what next? Let’s seriously hope for secretly exiting those annoying family groups without a notification. Wishful thinking, but who knows? Whataspp might just listen!